Please select your currency and VAT preference .
VAT & Currency (INC | GBP)   

0 Items

Welcome to, Log In to View Your Past Trophy Orders
Personalised Gifts
Archery Centre for Trophies

Archery Trophies

Archery Trophies and Medals

Archery is the art, practice, or skill of propelling arrows with the use of a bow, from Latin arcus. Historically, archery has been used for hunting and combat, while in modern times, its main use is that of a recreational activity and archery competition, hence the need for archery trophies and medals. A person who participates in archery is typically known as an "archer" or "bowman".

Archery had its debut at the 1900 Summer Olympics and has been contested in 14 Olympiads. Eighty three different nations have appeared in the Olympic archery competitions, with France appearing the most often at 11 times. It is governed by the International Archery Federation (FITA). Recurve archery is the only discipline of archery featured at the Olympic Games. Archery is also an event at the Summer Paralympics

Archery Competition

Modern Olympic archery consists of four medal events: men's individual, women's individual, men's team, and women's team. In all four events, the distance from the archer to the target is 70 metres.


In the individual competitions, 64 archers compete. The competition begins with the ranking round. Each archer shoots 72 arrows (in six ends, or groups, of 12 arrows). They are then ranked by score to determine their seeding for the single-elimination bracket. After this, final rankings for each archer is determined by the archer's score in the round in which the archer was defeated, with the archers defeated in the first round being ranked 33rd through 64th.


The first elimination round pits the first ranked archer against the sixty-fourth, the second against the sixty-third, and so on. In this match as well as the second and third, the archers shoot simultaneously 18 arrows in ends of 3 arrows. The archer with the higher score after 18 arrows moves on to the next round while the loser is eliminated.

After three such rounds, there are 8 archers remaining. The remaining three rounds (quarterfinals, semifinals, and medal matches) are referred to as the finals rounds. They consist of each archer shooting 12 arrows, again in ends of 3 arrows. The two archers in the match alternate by arrow instead of shooting their arrows simultaneously as in the first three rounds. The losers of the quarterfinals are eliminated, while the losers of the semifinals play each other to determine the bronze medal and fourth place. The two archers who are undefeated through the semifinals face each other in the gold medal match, in which the winner takes the gold medal while the loser receives the silver medal.

2008 changes

All matches in 2008 were in the previous finals round format, using 12 arrow matches. Archers alternated shooting by arrow.


Each country that has three archers in the individual competition also gets to compete as a team. The same three archers from the individual competition must compete as the country's team. Their scores in the individual ranking round are added to determine the team's ranking round score.

The first team round is the round of 16, but as the number of teams is usually between 9 and 15 the highest ranked teams typically get a bye in the first round. Matches consist of each team firing 27 arrows in 3 ends of 9 arrows, with each archer on the team firing 3 arrows per end. Advancement and medals are determined in the same manner as the individual competition.

2008 changes

The number of arrows per team in a match was reduced to 24, in 4 ends of 6 arrows. Each of the three archers on a team shot 8 arrows in a match.

Ecommerce by Red Hot Penny
Call : 0333 666 0607
We accept the following cards: